Delhi Metro Phase 4 - Everything You Need To Know

Admin |
Delhi Metro Phase 4 - Everything You Need To Know

New housing hubs in National Capital Region (NCR) will be connected to the Delhi Metro's Phase 4 (Phase IV). It was initially anticipated that the project would begin in 2017 and be completed by 2022. There have been delays in the project. In Phase 4, work on piling work for stations along the Janakpuri West-RK Ashram Marg corridor began on December 30, 2019, with a ground-breaking ceremony held at Haider Badli Mor.

Phase 4 of the Delhi Metro network, which covers 104 kilometers, is expected to carry 1.5 million passengers a day once completed. Although the route is scheduled to be completed by December 2024, it may be delayed due to the lockdown induced by Covid-19. A total of approximately 65 kilometers are planned along the three approved Delhi Metro Phase 4 corridors, Maujpur to Majlis Park, Janakpuri West to RK Ashram, and Tughlakabad to Aerocity.

What is Delhi Metro phase 4?

Delhi Metro Phase 4 routes with 6 lines covering a distance of 103.93km. The project covers three approved corridors Maujpur to Majlis Park, Janakpuri West to RK Ashram, and Tughlakabad to Aerocity, spanning a total length of around 65 km.

Information About Delhi Metro Phase 4

December 2018 saw the approval of Phase 4 of the Delhi Metro by the Delhi government. Arvind Kejriwal chaired the cabinet meeting that approved the six corridors. As a result, on March 7, 2019, the government approved three 'priority corridors' out of six corridors of Phase 4 of the Delhi Metro.

  • In total, three 'priority corridors' are approved: 61.679 kilometers
  • Three 'priority corridors' are estimated to cost Rs 24,948.65 crores
  • The six corridors have a total length of 103.93 km
  • The project is estimated to cost Rs 45,000 crores
  • 1.5 million passengers per day are expected
  • December 2024 is the anticipated completion date

List of Delhi Metro Phase 4 stations

  • 15 stations along the Aerocity-Tughlakabad corridor

In addition to Aerocity, Vasant Kunj Sector-D, Masoodpur, Kishangarh, Mehrauli, Lado Sarai, Saket, Saket G Block, Ambedkar Nagar, Khanpur, Tigri, Anandmayee Marg Junction, and Tughlakabad Road Colony, there are other areas where the names of the landmarks can be found.

  • 25 stations  along the RK Ashram and Janakpuri West

RK Ashram, Motiakhan, Sadar Bazar, Pulbangash, Ghanta Ghar/Sabzi Mandi, Rajpura, Derawal Nagar, Ashok Vihar, Azadpur, Mukundpur, Bhalaswa, Mukarba Chowk, BadliMor, North Pitampura, Prashant Vihar, Madhuban Chowk, Deepali Chowk, Pushpanjali Enclave, West Enclave, Mangolpuri, Peeragarhi Chowk, Paschim Vihar, Meerabagh, Keshopur, Krishan Park Ext and Janakpuri West.

  • 6 stations along the Maujpur-Mukundpur corridor

Yamuna Vihar, Bhajanpura, Khajuri Khas, Soorghat, Jagatpur Village, and Burari.

Update on Delhi Metro Phase 4

On March 7th, the Union Cabinet approved three of the six lines for Phase-4 of the Delhi Metro. Following Cabinet approval, all three corridors will be added to the Delhi metro map. Delhi will be connected to the farthest reaches of the National Capital Region in this phase.

December 2018 was the deadline for Cabinet approval of all six routes for the 104-kilometer project. If the government approves, Phase-4 will be 61.67 kilometers long, with 46 Metro stations, including 17 elevated stations. The project will cost over Rs 25,000 crore, with a portion of the funds contributed by the Delhi government.

The last-mile connectivity component of Phase 4 is intended to provide access to major infrastructure clusters across the NCR. Those lines would have 17 underground stops and 29 elevated stops, based on government estimates. Once completed, they are expected to serve roughly 15 lakh passengers daily.

  • Phase 4 of the DMRC is due by December 31, 2024 (Priority Corridors).
  • Estimated completion date: 2026 (Priority Corridors)
  • The estimated project cost is Rs. 24,948.65 crore
  • (December 2019) Revised Funding Pattern
  • Government of India (GoI): Rs. 4,643.638 crore
  • Govt. of Delhi (GNCTD) & others: Rs. 7,374.098 cr.
  • Loans from external sources: Rs. 12,930.914 crore
  • New lines approved in Phase 4
  • Air city - Tughlakabad, Line-10, Silver
  • 23.622 kilometers in length
  • Elevated (4.279km) and Underground (19.343km)
  • Vasant Kunj or Sarita Vihar (shared with Violet Line)

Number of Stations: 16

Station Names: Aerocity, Mahipalpur, Vasant Kunj, Kishangarh, Chhatarpur, Chhattarpur Mandir, IGNOU, Neb Sarai, Saket G-Block, Ambedkar Nagar, Khanpur, Sangam Vihar, Maa Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tughlakabad Railway Colony (Pul Prahaladpur) and Tughlakabad

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the interoperable NCMC last year under the name One Nation One Card. By the end of the year, these two facilities could be added to the Airport Express Line.

Know all about the One Nation One Card:

  1. Through the locally-developed NCMC, people can pay for multiple kinds of transportation across the country, including metro and bus services.
  2. Additionally, cardholders will be able to pay their toll taxes, parking charges, retail shopping, and even withdraw money.
  3. Singh told news agency PTI that the AFC system will fully accept national common mobility cards in Phase 4 of the Delhi Metro.
  4. In Phase 4 metro lines, riders will be able to enter and exit the AFC gates using a mobile phone, which will act as a smartcard.
  5. There has been clarification from DMRC that old smart cards can be used on the new lines as well.

Three out of the six corridors of Delhi Metro's proposed Phase 4 were approved by the Union Cabinet in March last year, in a meeting chaired by PM Modi. Within the approved segment, new metro lines covering 61.679 kilometers and 45 stations are proposed for construction. Metro Delhi's already operational lines will be interconnected through these new sections.

Mukundpur-Maujpur, R K Ashram-Janakpuri West, and Aerocity-Tughlakabad are among the corridors approved by the Union cabinet. Phase 4 also includes Rithala-Bawana-Narela, Inderlok-Indraprastha, and Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block, which are not yet approved. A groundbreaking ceremony was held for Delhi Metro's Phase 4 project at Haider Badli Mor on December 30 last year. Work has begun on the construction of 10 stations along a 28.92-km corridor connecting Janakpuri West and R K Ashram Marg, which is an extension of the Magenta Line.

The Phase 4 project will include many highs and several DMRC firsts. The first metro bridge over the Yamuna to be constructed using the cantilever-construction method, as well as the highest point in the DMRC system, will both be constructed as part of this project.

How many phases are there in Delhi Metro?

In India, Delhi Metro is the largest and busiest rapid transit system connecting the country's capital region with satellite cities. DMRC- Delhi Metro Rail Corporation is operating the metro system. The Delhi Metro system is planned in 4 phases.

  • Phase1 has three lines- Red, Yellow, and Blue
  • Phase2 has a Red, Yellow, Blue, Green, Violet, and Orange line
  • Phase3 has Red, Yellow, Blue, Green, Violet, Pink, Magenta, Grey, and Orange line
  • Phase4 has Magenta, Silver, Pink, Red, Indigo, Silver, Blue, and Metro Lite.

Is Delhi Metro Phase 3 Complete?

Yes, phase III was completed on 18 September 2021 though it was delayed due to the pandemic now it is working.